View Full Version : Spoof email
Shirley
02-24-2010, 07:29 PM
Well I haven't got one of these in a long time so I thought that I would share with everyone as a reminder that these things are still out there! Thanks to Pig for all of her ebay training.
http://i132.photobucket.com/albums/q9/Shirley_058/pp1.jpg
http://i132.photobucket.com/albums/q9/Shirley_058/pp2.jpg
If you get one of these report it to PayPal and delete it.
Shirley
02-24-2010, 07:31 PM
Hello Shirley Wright,
Thanks for forwarding that suspicious-looking email. You're right - it
was a phishing attempt, and we're working on stopping the fraud. By
reporting the problem, you've made a difference!
Identity thieves try to trick you into revealing your password or other
personal information through phishing emails and fake websites. To learn
more about online safety, click "Security Center" on any PayPal webpage.
Every email counts. When you forward suspicious-looking emails to
spoof@paypal.com (spoof@paypal.com), you help keep yourself and others safe from identity
theft.
Your account security is very important to us, so we appreciate your
extra effort.
Thanks,
PayPal
bigolepig
02-24-2010, 11:11 PM
Good job Shirley...those idiots need to be put in a deep fryer!!
dpkimmel2001
02-25-2010, 07:03 AM
I used to get those types of emails once a month or so. I haven't had one in quite some time. Thanks for the reminder. I almost fell for that the first time but when I hovered my mouse pointer over the embedded link the address was pointing to some site completely different than PayPal. I've been reporting them ever since.
Another to be concerned about is the window that pops up about doing a virus scan. I wish I could remember all the details on this one but basically it would prompt you to do a virus check on your PC. It had a simple prompt of Yes or No. Regardless of what you chose, it downloaded software that infects your PC. It was a roundabout way of trying to collect your credit card information to pay for removal of a virus that was installed by the same software. A kind of extortion IMO.
Bottom line..... Be careful out here on the net!
Powered by vBulletin™ Version 4.1.1 Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.